A Spoonful of Murder: The first book in a hilarious and totally unputdownable cosy murder mystery series for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

£9.9
FREE Shipping

A Spoonful of Murder: The first book in a hilarious and totally unputdownable cosy murder mystery series for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

A Spoonful of Murder: The first book in a hilarious and totally unputdownable cosy murder mystery series for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

They talk about everything and nothing, when they bump into ex colleague Topsy a rather strong character with failing health due to Alzheimer’s disease setting in they never dreamed that a week later that Topsy would be no more. Liz is a lifelong worrier with a sweet and sensitive conscience, most likely to be on hand when someone is needed 'to dispense tissues, wipes, and make gentle conversation'. I found out at the end of the book that he is a primary school teacher and so he obviously drew a lot on that with the ladies all being retired teachers. When Topsy dies in her sleep after supposedly mistakenly taking too much of her heart medication, the three learn troubling facts about a number of people connected to Topsy that make them suspicious that Topsy may have been murdered and, even if not, was being victimized and by possibly more than one person. I thought I had a few things figured out, but with so many possible suspects and clues that led me down various paths, I was only partially correct.

From the get go, it drew its hooks in and I couldn’t wait to keep reading on to see what would happen. of the way through the book I thought it had finished and was surprised when there was a fair but more of the book to go! Fans of Agatha Christie, Death in Paradise and Midsomer Murders will be hooked from the very first page. All the women seem to be different ages too and these are left unspecified - Jan has a teenager doing their A-levels still at home whereas Topsy has a thirty some year old, and Jan has a grandchild at primary school.Liz, a seasoned gardener, anxious grandmother to Jacob, life-long worrier with a sweet and sensitive conscience, is the heart-and-soul of the group, most likely to be on hand when someone is needed “to dispense tissues, wipes, and make gentle conversation”. This book follows ex colleagues Liz, Pat and Thelma as they meet up every Thursday to catch up on each other’s lives. With their wit and wisdom, these seniors do things even I couldn't dream of, often reminding me of my beloved Miss Marple.

The girls decide to visit Topsy at her home to check up on her and see what exactly is going on, while there they discover that she has lost all of her life savings and has been a victim of fraud.

A Spoonful of Sugar is set around the East Yorkshire towns of Thirsk and Northallerton, and promises a cast of female retirees using their many skills to solve a murder mystery. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. One week later – Topsy is dead – and something she told one of her old school colleagues is playing on her friends mind. However, things take an alarming turn when Topsy confides in Thelma about people coming to her house, "financial misnomers" and that someone had said "It'd be better all round if she was dead.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop